Dialogue vs narration

 

book-863418_1280
Enter the magic…

I’m the kind of reader who glosses happily over a long winded paragraph in order to reach the next dialogue quicker.

I am not ashamed to admit I do it very regularly.

These past few years, I’ve noticed more and more authors are favouring dialogue to narration, use shorter sentences, and go to the point without going round a few times and back.

It fits my style of reading.

But my editor, who has sent me my first update on her reading, has mentioned the words “add more description”. Not that I disagree with her, because at the 10000th re-read of my manuscript, I had observed a few areas that could benefit from more details.

But therein lies the problem.

How much is too much, and how much is not enough?

I tend to like the fast paced story line, in any genre I read. But I can only guess that others prefer savouring the moments, and enjoy the long descriptions because it gives them a clearer visualization of the characters and the world they live in.

How do you determine how far you can go with your narration/description without boring the fast reader, yet without alienating the gourmet reader?

Leave a Reply

