Print vs e-book

I caved in, and decided to offer my novel as a print version too. I wasn’t sure at first, but in the end, I went with the general consensus (read this as: my mother and my husband), and formatted my book for a print-on- demand.

My cover artist still has to send me the file before I take the plunge, but I believe I’ve made the right choice. There are plenty of people out there, who still prefer the print version, despite a higher purchase price. I admit as a reader, I’m sitting on the fence.

I do prefer having a paperback in my hands. The feel of the page is incomparable. I like being able to find and re-read a specific scene without having to troll through whole chapters before I get to it. I also like to be able to ogle the cover at any time, which is important to me, because as a Kindle first generation owner, covers are not only displayed in black and white, but they’re also relegated behind the default opening page, aka chapter one.

I can’t not love my Kindle though, for the unbelievable amount of space it’s saving me! I can delete books I didn’t care about at the click of a button and I can resume my reading where I left it. Plus, the e-book versions are always cheaper, which is not to be sniffed at.

By offering a paperback version, I admit it probably shows I’m serious about this writing business as well. If I can sell even one paperback, then it’s worth it, right?

On a side note, I am about halfway through book 2. It’s shaping up great, and I am thrilled. It contains a lot of drama and mystery, with one main character stuck in the past, and the other running away from it; though they are more similar they they think.

I only wish I had more free time to write, and what would I give to have a proper office…or a garden shed!

office-1078869_1920

2 thoughts on “Print vs e-book

  1. I struggled with this too—still do! I don’t want to sacrifice more trees, but I love the sensation of page turning when I’m really into a book. Plus, it was nice being able to hold my own book in my hand for the first time. It was like getting a new puppy I didn’t want to let go of. I even smelled the pages. What convinced me was the “Print to order” that happens. At least I am not obligated to sell a room full of books collecting dust. I think you made a wise choice. Good luck and congratulations!!! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

