Blurbs: the deal breakers

I am not a loyal reader.

I know a lot of people who are massive fans of an author, and will read anything produced by them, careless of the storyline.

For me, the blurb is the sole deal breaker. If it doesn’t appeal to me, I will not read the book, even if the author has written something I adored previously. On the other hand, if the blurb appeals to me, I will read the book, whether it’s written by a seasoned pro or an Indie newbie.

I’ve noticed the majority of mega successful books follow a tried and tested formula, and fit a mould of stereotypical scenes and characters.

Take a genre. Any genre.  You are expecting some specific elements, aren’t you?

In the genre that I write (romance), readers expect a strong Alpha male, handsome and virile, matched up with a sassy, fierce woman. Both need hidden qualities, and maybe a painful past. Excuse me, but DULL, DULL, DULL.

In my stories, I try to break that mould. A little pinch of this, a little pinch of that. I like to surprise the reader. Some enjoy the originality. Others are unsettled. It’s a risk I’m taking.

As a reader, I’m constantly on the lookout for new and original plot lines. I like any genre, bar science fiction and historical. I love it when authors mix the expectations of one genre with another.

Bottom line (pun intended), I love it when a blurb doesn’t remind me of one I’ve already read a thousand times.

 

One thought on “Blurbs: the deal breakers

  1. While I am always on the look out for original books, I am also a loyal reader. There are some authors who can write anything and I will gladly buy their books without even glimpsing at the blurb as I know I will enjoy it anyway. There are also some solid 4 star authors where I will most likely pick up their enxt book, especialy when I can get it for free or for review. But most often I do read the blurb and even if I know the author the blurb determines if I want to read the book or not. And yes I like it when a blurb doesn’t remind me of other books, but sometimes having some common or cliché elements is okay too and it can still be a good story. And those trends on genres do tell a reader what to expect. But if I roll my eyes when reading a blurb as it’s too similiar to other books I read that usually isn’t a good thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

